What this instrument does

The federal government registered the Public Lending Right Scheme (Payment Rates) Modification 2026 on 14 May 2026. The instrument modified the payment rates used under the Public Lending Right Scheme 2016 for a defined period - from 14 May 2026 to 30 September 2026. After 30 September 2026, the instrument was repealed and is no longer in force.

About the Public Lending Right Scheme

The Public Lending Right Scheme pays Australian authors and publishers whose books are held in Australian public and parliamentary libraries.

What changed

This modification adjusted the payment rates that apply under the scheme during the period from 14 May 2026 to 30 September 2026. The source document does not specify the new payment rates or the amount by which rates changed.

Key dates

Where to find details

The full instrument is available at legislation.gov.au/F2026L00565. For details of the rates that applied between 14 May 2026 and 30 September 2026, the Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications, Sport and the Arts can be contacted directly. For questions about rates applying after 30 September 2026, the source does not specify what replaced this modification - the administering department is the contact point for that information.

This is a plain-English summary for information only, not legal or compliance advice. Always check the official source or consult a qualified professional.